Login / Register

Alban Berg/Theo Verbey - Piano Sonata Op. 1 (1909) Orchestrated

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.

Added by Admin in


Alban Maria Johannes Berg (February 9, 1885 – December 24, 1935) was an Austrian composer of the Second Viennese School. His compositional style combined Romantic lyricism with twelve-tone technique.

Piano Sonata Op. 1 (1909)
orchestrated in 1985 by Theo Verbey (Dutch composer born 1959)

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra conducted by Riccardo Chailly

The sonata is not in the typical classical form of three or four contrasting movements, but consists of a single movement centered in the key of B minor. Berg originally intended for the Sonata to be a more traditional multi-movement work, the opening movement followed by a slow movement and a finale. However, for a long period he lacked any ideas for these other movements. Berg turned to Schoenberg, who commented that the lack of inspiration meant that '[Berg] ... had said all there was to say'. Following Schoenberg's advice, Berg decided to publish the finished movement and let it stand by itself.

Post your comment

Sign in or sign up to post comments.


Be the first to comment